Today I realised the bread we sell to customers isn’t actually vegan, despite us selling it as a vegan product. via /r/vegan


Today I realised the bread we sell to customers isn’t actually vegan, despite us selling it as a vegan product.

I’ve worked at this cafe for a few years now and have just recently gone vegan. It was a slow day today so I read the back of the bread bag and sure enough, the bread we toast to plate up lists honey as a key ingredient. Told the kitchen manager who had no idea honey was in the bread and their argument was that some vegans eat honey. Sure, some do. But it didn’t sit right with me at all. We sell a lot of meaty meals, so most vegan customers would likely expect cross-contamination. But it feels morally wrong to let this one slide. It makes me wonder how often products are sold to us as vegan when they’re not. Anyone experienced something similar before?

Related Posts